Texas shield logo
Division of Campus and Community Engagement

Division of Campus and Community Engagement

As Austin’s new Healthcare Innovation District takes shape, we’re strategically positioned to leverage our expertise and collaborate with community partners. Our mission is to transform how the UT community and Central Texas community promote mental health in everyday life, especially among historically excluded and marginalized populations.

The Community Integrated Health Initiatives (CIHI) team includes:

  • Octavio N. Martinez Jr. – DCCE senior associate vice president and executive director of the Hogg Foundation for Mental Health
  • Ryan M. Sutton – Director
  • Abigail Oduro – Graduate Assistant
  • Jacqueline Lee – Student ambassador
  • Shadhi Mansoori – Administrative Assistant

Greater Travis County Community Initiative

Currently, we are conducting an environmental analysis to identify key stakeholders and gaps in service. A Central Texas Community Forum will be held in fall 2019, followed by the development of a community-led collaborative.

Steering Committee

Octavio Martinez (chair), Jennifer Maedgen, Ryan Sutton, Ruben Cantu, Suchitra Gururaj, Michael Mackert, David Springer, Brent Fields, Rodolofo Rodriguez, and Starla Simmons

UT Community Initiative

The UT Community Initiative will focus on improving the diversity of the health professions pipeline from elementary school to post-graduate levels. We are beginning with an environmental analysis that will identify programs and initiatives within colleges, schools, departments and student organizations. Also, we will begin working with students in Central Texas schools to encourage interest in the healthcare professions before college and develop a student-led collaborative that we hope to extend to other area colleges and universities. A UT forum will kick off the student-led collaborative during the 2019-2020 academic year.

Steering Committee

Octavio Martinez (Chair), Jennifer Maedgen, Ryan Sutton, Chris Brownson, Aileen Bumphus, Clayton Stromberger, and Stephen Sonnenberg, and Stephanie Osbakken